America's Cup 2008

Map - AC 2008 Flyer

America's Cup 2008

July 12th and 13th - The venue for this event is the "Commerce A" building at Auckland University.

The cost will be $15 for one day, $25 for two days (both include the LARP cost), or $5 for just the evening Larp. All current America members get a $5 discount from the one and two day prices.

Doors open at 9am for registrations and the first session begins at 9.30am.

The event will consist of four systemless games (two each day), a live-action game on the Friday night (the 11th), and a group dinner/prizegiving at Nando’s on the Sunday following the conclusion of gaming.

There are some great prizes up for grabs including Best of Session Prize. To be eligible for the grand prize of The America’s Cup you need to compete in at least 3 of the 4 systemless games over the weekend.

Systemless Roleplaying Games


(9.30am - 1pm): Hokitika International Airport - An action-genre game set at the international airport of New Zealand's bustling city of Hokitika.

(2pm - 5.30pm): UPDATED: Lost Survivor - A farcical comedy in which an unlikely group of survivors excape a plane crash and find themselves on a tropical island - absurdity ensues.


(9.30am - 1pm): UPDATED: Nothing could possibly go wrong - A supernatural horror in which a team of special investigators are tasked with containing a demon that has begun to rise in an abandoned township. Everything should go by the book...

(2pm - 5.30pm): A Day in the Life of a Byzantine Soldier - An action game set within the walls of the city of Byzantium that follows the events of one day for a group of elite Byzantine soldiers.

Live Action Roleplay

Muppet's Medieval LARP - Check with Muppet for more details Starts approx. 7pm on the Friday night



Most people seemed to enjoy the weekend, despite the last minute change of some games due to technical difficulties. The quality of roleplaying was very good, and the games were well received overall.

Winners were:
1st Place: Jared Tannahill
2nd Place: Vanya Essin
3rd Place: Hannah Jackson

Saturday AM Best of Session: Sue-Ling Kim
Saturday PM Best of Session: Cameron Burns
Sunday AM Best of Session: Daphne Cohen
Sunday PM Best of Session: Matthew Breen